The Fighter

Last night I dreamed an awful dream

My hero he was dying

It left an emptiness inside

I felt my Spirit crying

See somewhere on this road through life

There just ain’t no denying

The souls we meet

Are meant to be

The Wings to keep us Flying

 

You lift me when I’m weary

With a gentle guiding hand

A parable of love and truth

So I may understand

There’s a light there in the distance

If I take the time to look

And the Darkness in the Shadows dies

Like the closing of a book

Some falter at the ending

Some stray out of the light

The page of life’s eternal

And the story’s yours to write

 

As I gazed into those eyes of blue

Those windows to your soul

I witnessed life and wonder

In a body that’s grown old

I can’t help but feel a sadness

And a loss when days were warmer

An emptiness inside when

You’re no longer in my corner

Sing songs of hope and wisdom

Even Blake would take a bow

If he looked, below and seen the man

He’d helped to shape somehow

 

A grain of sand, beneath lifes shoe

A rock, to something less

A mountain high, in skies of blue

A haven for to rest

There’s a cup of tin you carry

In the hands of each of us

That’s brimming full of happiness

Awaiting up above

You’re a prophet, spilling secrets

Though it’s led your soul to bleed

The ink upon the paper

Is the only truth I need

 

We always knew you’d last the pace

Though you had rounds of doubt

And rolling with the punches

Left you bleeding from the mouth

When fate had left you reeling

God knows you did your best

You proved yourself, the best you could

God knows He’s had you blessed

But heart alone inspired you

‘Til you dreamed a better dream

And focused on your vision

An illusive, timeless dream

 

 

So fill your lungs with freedom

‘Cos you’ve made the final round

Hell knows the tank is empty

With the seconds counting down

A hundred thousand friends of yours

Are screaming in your corner

Each lifted and elated

‘Cos, we know you’ve played a stormer

It’s time now to surrender

For you’ve paid your dues on Earth

A healing balm, of love and calm

Awaits, to salve the hurt

 

Last night I dreamed an awful dream

My hero he was dying

It left an emptiness inside

I felt my Spirit crying

See somewhere on this road through life

There just ain’t no denying

The souls we meet

Are meant to be

The Wings to keep us Flying

 

 

A bad dream . . . . of how it must feel when things go dreadfully awry, when those we care for and fit into our lives so perfectly fail to be there anymore . . .

Leave a Reply

