Trail Of Tears

 

God knows at times it don’t all come up Roses

And most days, these days life don’t work at all

Each road I choose keeps leading me to nowhere

But You’ve been there, each time I trip and fall

I’ve tread your Trail of Tears

I hear You crying

And Jesus knows, I’m failing but I try…

It used to feel so easy, with You watching

But maybe You’ve been busy, times are tough

A thousand Souls a year I hear are passing

A thousand Souls, who’ve just had had enough

They tread Your Trail of Tears

They heard You crying

And Jesus seen them failing, but they tried…

It’s faith in You, that keeps my heart still beating

And all I’ve come to love along the way

I’ve loved more than I’ve ever dreamed of loving

But sometimes You just seem so far away

I’ve tread Your Trail of Tears

I hear You crying

And Jesus knows I’m failing, but I try…

Please, rest the saddened lonely ones who’ve fallen

Their Spirits, undeserving of the blame

It may be that they heard Your sweet voice calling

As the burden it was never theirs to claim

You’ve seen their Trail of Tears

You heard them crying

And Jesus knows, they failed Lord, but they tried…

And if tomorrow finds me lost and lonely

Screaming at this world to understand

It’s man that needs to help his ailing brother

It’s man that needs to hold his brothers hand

To tread Your Trail of Tears

To hear You crying

                                    And even though we’re failing, we’ll have tried…

God knows at times it don’t all come up Roses

And most days, these days life don’t work at all

Each road I choose keeps leading me to nowhere

But You’ve been there, each time I trip and fall

I’ve tread your Trail of Tears

I hear You crying

And Jesus knows, I’m failing but I try…

It used to feel so easy, with You watching

But maybe You’ve been busy, times are tough

A thousand Souls a year I hear are passing

A thousand Souls, who’ve just had had enough

They tread Your Trail of Tears

They heard You crying

And Jesus seen them failing, but they tried…

It’s faith in You, that keeps my heart still beating

And all I’ve come to love along the way

I’ve loved more than I’ve ever dreamed of loving

But sometimes You just seem so far away

I’ve tread Your Trail of Tears

I hear You crying

And Jesus knows I’m failing, but I try…

Please, rest the saddened lonely ones who’ve fallen

Their Spirits, undeserving of the blame

It may be that they heard Your sweet voice calling

As the burden it was never theirs to claim

You’ve seen their Trail of Tears

You heard them crying

And Jesus knows, they failed Lord, but they tried…

And if tomorrow finds me lost and lonely

Screaming at this world to understand

It’s man that needs to help his ailing brother

It’s man that needs to hold his brothers hand

To tread Your Trail of Tears

To hear You crying

                                    And even though we’re failing, we’ll have tried…

Wrote this one for the 1,000 suicides in Ireland each year 150 on average students with their lives ahead of them….

Leave a Reply

